2009 Utah Film Critics Association Awards winners

Poster art courtesy Fox Searchlight Pictures

“Up in the Air” was recognized with two awards at the annual meeting of the Utah Film Critics Association, including Best Picture of 2009. The film’s director, Jason Reitman, also won for Best Achievement in Directing.

In the Male Lead Performance category, Viggo Mortensen was recognized for his work in “The Road,” as a father leading his young son through a post-apocalyptic America. Carey Mulligan took Female Lead Performance honors as a teenager involved with an older man in “An Education.”

Two awards went to “Fantastic Mr. Fox”: Best Animated Feature, and Best Screenplay, for Wes Anderson and Noah Baumbach. Supporting Performance awards went to Mo’Nique as an abusive single mother in “Precious,” and Christian McKay as Orson Welles in “Me and Orson Welles.”

In the documentary category, “The Cove” was recognized, while Park Chan-wook’s Korean vampire thriller “Thirst” was honored in the non-English language category.

The Utah Film Critics Association is made up of film journalists from print, online and broadcast media based in the state of Utah. Members include Luke Hickman, The Reel Place (online); Jimmy Martin, SLUG Magazine; Sean P. Means, Salt Lake Tribune; Andy Morgan, KVNU-FM; Ryan Michael Painter, In Utah This Week; Scott Renshaw, Salt Lake City Weekly; Steve Salles, Standard-Examiner (Ogden); Mike Thiriot, KTHB-FM; Missy Thompson, Tooele Transcript-Bulletin; Tony Toscano, Talking Pictures; Jeff Vice, Deseret News; and Doug Wright, KSL Movie Show.

The complete list of 2009 Utah Film Critics Association Awards winners and runners-up follows:

— Best Picture
“Up in the Air”

(Runners-up: “The Hurt Locker”; “Inglourious Basterds”)

— Best Achievement in Directing

Jason Reitman, “Up in the Air”

(Runner-up: John Hillcoat, “The Road”)

— Best Male Lead Performance
Viggo Mortensen, “The Road”

(Runner-up: Jeremy Renner, “The Hurt Locker”)

— Best Female Lead Performance
Carey Mulligan, “An Education”

(Runner-up: Maya Rudolph, “Away We Go”)

— Best Male Supporting Performance
Christian McKay, “Me and Orson Welles”

(Runner-up: Christoph Waltz, “Inglourious Basterds”)

— Best Supporting Performance by an Actress
Mo’Nique, “Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire”

(Runner-up: Anna Kendrick, “Up in the Air”)

— Best Screenplay
Wes Anderson and Noah Baumbach, “Fantastic Mr. Fox”

(Runners-up: Scott Neustadter and Michael H. Weber, “(500) Days of Summer”; Quentin Tarantino, “Inglourious Basterds”)

— Best Animated Feature
“Fantastic Mr. Fox”

(Runner-up: “Up”)

— Best Documentary Feature

“The Cove”

(Runner-up: “Anvil! The Story of Anvil”)

— Best Non-English Language Feature

(Runner-up: “Sin Nombre”)

Leave a comment

DeseretNews.com encourages a civil dialogue among its readers. We welcome your thoughtful comments.